University of Toronto Schools’ Root Magazine

University of Toronto Schools(UTS) approached me to do a portrait and cover shoot of my grandfather (and UTS graduate, Class of ’49), Jim Fleck. Root is UTS’ alumni magazine and being that UTS is known for their students’ academic excellence and drive, their alumni includes an illustrious lot.

I was overjoyed with an assignment like that. I have unending respect for my grandfather’s achievements and multi-faceted career so this was a dream job for me. The first challenge was choosing the location. We decided on the Rotman School Business where he had long been a professor and decided to shoot in the Fleck Atrium which is a grand main space for a buzzing student body.

We decided to keep the shoot upbeat, bright and showing off his joie de vivre which is palpable to anyone that knows or even meets him. It was a great shoot and here is the end product for you to be the judge on.

For the full magazine: http://www.utschools.ca/uploads/public/Root/ROOT_Spring12_WEB.pdf

For more info, go to: www.jamiedayfleck.com

Leave a comment